There are three standard formats of Memory championships

1.Nationals & National Open Championships

National Championships are exclusive for the citizens of that particular country whereas National Open Championships allow foreigners to compete for the national open title.

Championships that follow national formats are usually one-day events with shorter events. ( 5 minutes, 10 minutes and 15 Minutes.

2.International Open Championships

Championships that follow international formats are usually Two-day events with longer Memorization times. ( 5 minutes, 15 minutes and 30 Minutes)

3.World Championships

World Memory Championships are spread into three days with Marathon events. ( 5 minutes, 30 minutes and 60 Minutes)

All the scores in the official championships are ranked by the organizing councils.


There are three major councils that organize memory championships around the world.


The World Memory Sports Council (WMSC)

The International Association Of Memory (IAM)

Asia Memory Sports Council (AMSC) 


Any championships affiliated to the above organizations are official and are eligible for entering the world rankings and breaking/setting new national and world records in memory sports.


Happy Neurons!